Bruce Soord – Interview

Bruce & Jonas

With the release of the long awaited ‘Wisdom Of Crowds’ record fast approaching, I spoke to the man behind the collaboration, Bruce Soord.

Gerry:

So, this release has been a long time coming. How long has the process taken overall and are you satisfied with the record?
Bruce:
On and off, over 4 years in the making which is the longest I have spent on a project! But it meant I could try lots of ideas, make lots of mistakes and have time to fix them. I am really, really pleased with the record. But satisfied? I’ll never be satisfied!

Gerry:
Why was it so imperative to have Jonas on board?
Bruce:
We just couldn’t imagine anyone else doing it. The project certainly didn’t fit my voice and I’d always been a fan of Jonas and Katatonia. So he was number 1 choice. Nobody in the world sings like Jonas.

Gerry:
How was it working with Jonas?
Bruce:
We had a great time. Jonas flew over for a 5 day session in my studio. None of us knew how it would pan out but it wasn’t long before we were sharing stories and drinking beer! Luckily Jonas nailed all the tracks really quickly. It was one of the most chilled out sessions I’ve ever been involved with.

Gerry:
What was the reason for the title Wisdom Of Crowds?

Bruce:
It was actually one of the suggestions from Kscope and fit perfectly. There are actually three people in this marriage. Myself, Jonas but also Johnny Wilks from Kscope, who initially came up with the concept for the project. Together, there was certainly some wisdom gained. I’ve never worked in a writing collaboration before but this threesome produced something special.

Gerry:
Can you tell me about the theme of Wisdom Of Crowds?  Was this open to modification when Jonas came on board?
Bruce:
No, the songs were pretty much complete when Jonas came on board but without vocals. But that’s not to understate the huge impact Jonas had on the final record. As for a theme, the only thing I can say is that it’s cold, bleak and dark.

Gerry:
What is your favourite track on the record? And why?
Bruce:
At the moment it’s The Centre of Gravity. I love the arrangements on that track and it has some wonderful vocal moments too. And I’ve been a fan of the mellotron since I was a kid…

Gerry:
How much of an input did you have on the artwork?
Bruce:
I’ve become good friends with Scott from Kscope who handles a lot of the design work there. We started talking about the concept very early on. We both knew the cover had to reflect the cold, bleak feel of the album. We chatted about various ideas (some more expensive than others) and eventually settled on the ice shots by Devin Campbell. When Scott told me we were getting mirror covers, it was the icing on the cake.

Gerry:
Will you tour the record?
Bruce:
It’s looking more and more likely. I know Jonas and I are keen to hook up again. I think it’s just been confirmed that we’re launching the album at the Kscope showcases in London in July at The Garage. And then, if things go well, we may be coming to a city near you in December…

Facebook.
Kscope.

About Administrator

Owner of Feedback Magazine UK - established 2011 View all posts by Administrator

Leave a Reply

