Katatonia – Dead End Kings

Katatonia - Dead End Kings

Stockholm’s Katatonia have been successfully delivering quality albums ever since their inception back in 1991. Astoundingly, the group has had no less than sixteen members during this time.  Much has been written about the group changing perspective back on 1998’s Discouraged Ones, achieving critical acclaim in the process.  The current line-up is made up of founding members Anders ‘Blakkheim’ Nyström, Jonas Petter Renkse (who incidentally have also produced the record) and Per ‘Sodo’ Eriksson, Niklas ‘Nille’ Sandin and Daniel Liljekvist.  This latest release takes up the reigns from where ‘Night Is the New Day’ stopped off, and is another fine collection of melancholic and jaw-droppingly beautiful songs.  Katatonia are certainly not afraid to make and play music that they love.  This non conformative approach is one of the best things about them and they have worked extremely hard to perfect their matured and truly unique sound. The resplendent ‘Ambitions’ could have come straight off of ‘Night Is the New Day’, with their mix of sadness and collected frustration gelling perfectly.  Elsewhere, the use of strings is captivating on the brilliant ‘Undo You’ with a slow building intro which is majestic in its approach and boasts an epic performance from Renkse on vocals.  The spiralling ‘Lethean’ is a welcome slab of trademark riffing from Nyström and has a commodious chorus to boot.  Lead single ‘Buildings’ changes gear superbly from slow despair to contagious stomp, instilling an overall elevating feeling throughout.  If you have not discovered this band yet, check them out now. In short, this is their finest offering to date.

The Dead Ends of Europe tour kicks off on 2nd November, order tickets here.

Buy it here!

Katatonia are:

Jonas Petter Renkse (Vocalist, Lyricist & Songwriter), Anders ‘Blakkheim’ Nyström (Lead/Rhythm Guitarist, Live Backing Vocalist & Songwriter), Per ‘Sodo’ Eriksson (Lead/Rhythm Guitarist, Live Backing Vocalist), Niklas ‘Nille’ Sandin (Bass), Daniel Liljekvist (Drums).

Official site.


About GezzaG

Irishman in the UK. View all posts by GezzaG

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: