Liv Kristine – Interview

Liv Kristine

Leave’s Eyes front-woman Liv Kristine talks about their upcoming tour and her fourth solo record Libertine.

Gerry:
Looking forward to the tour with Firewind?

Liv:
I am really looking forward to this tour! We will play at places and venues we’ve never played before, like in Belfast. Firewind is such a great band with outstanding musicians and lovely people. We already met Gus, even his family, some times lately, having a drink at the German Musikmesse, moreover, we met backstage at an Ozzy Osbourne concert.

Gerry:
What have Leave’s Eyes got in store for UK fans on the tour?

Liv:
Last time we played London and Manchester in 2011 we had such a killer time: full venues and a fantastic audience! Alex and Tosso already made up their minds about the “possibly-preferable” UK-audience setlist. Apart from that I will join Firewind for their superb track “Breaking the Silence”. I can’t wait to meet you all after the show! For those of you who haven’t heard my upcoming solo album yet, I will bring some “Libertine” for you in my suitcase;-)

Gerry:
Do you prefer to tour as a band or a solo artist?

Liv:
I definitely need both. The main difference is rooted within the musical genres: Leaves” Eyes is a metal band, influenced by Scandinavian and Irish traditional folk music, moreover, Norse mythology and Viking history when it comes to lyrics and concept. My solo project is probably at home in the genre of indie rock-pop music. I grew up with e.g. Black Sabbath, Edvard Grieg, and Abba, i.e. a lot of varied and interesting musical influences. I believe I was born with a creative heart and mind and I do need to develop, to spread my wings within music and art generally, which also means to be involved with different musical styles.

Gerry:
Has touring gotten easier or more difficult?

Liv:
I would say easier. My son is a big boy now, we have found a great private school that has a headmaster who knows us well and accepts our “untraditional” jobs…and there is this wonderful thing called “Skype”! Moreover, most members of Leaves’Eyes have toured together several times which means that we know each other very well: Snoring band members in the back bunks; “silent” people in the front of the night liner, no dirty socks, “love-making” and loud partying only outside the bus!

Gerry:
You have spanned various genres over your career (Gothic, Symphonic, Folk etc…), does it happen naturally or did you always intend for it to be like that?

Liv:
It happens naturally. I just follow my musical instinct… and heart.  There are no limits for me except for my own “stomach feeling”, that is that inner voice that helps me make my decisions and find my own ways. My wide experience has made me become the artist I am, and I feel completely free to spread my wings. Thanks to my friends and fans supporting me throughout all these years, and having faith in my natural-given talent. Someday, I will take my first singing lesson.

Gerry:
How has your approach to recording changed over this time?

Liv:
I actually have become a great fan of one-take recording sessions, i.e. recording a complete song in one turn. I like this because you can build up the tension and improvisation more intensely, which again strengthens the emotional effect on the listeners. I did it again with the Kate Bush cover, moreover, with Silence and Panic. We are lucky to have our own studio, Mastersound. That’s a great privilege.

Gerry:
You have collaborated with numerous artists, including Nick Holmes (3am) and Cradle of Filth (Nymphetamine).  Which was the most enjoyable?  And why?

Liv:
It was the guest vocal appearances for Atrocity (work 80) and Cradle of Filth (Nymphetamine). Atrocity went straight into the charts, and the Cradle-duet was even nominated for the US Grammy. Motörhead won the Grammy… they deserved it, but I’m hoping for a second chance some day;-)

Anyway, headlining Wacken Open Air with Leaves’ Eyes, bringing along my Viking ship 700 kilometers on a truck, building it up on stage, : Except from my own bands, Leaves’ Eyes and Liv Kristine, it was the guest vocal appearances for Atrocity (work 80) and Cradle of Filth (Nymphetamine). Atrocity went straight into the charts, and the Cradle-duet was even nominated for the US Grammy. Motörhead won the Grammy… they deserved it, but I’m hoping for a second chance some day;-) Anyway, headlining Wacken Open Air with Leaves’ Eyes and special guests this  summer was probably the best live experience I had so far in my career.

Gerry:
How does Libertine differ from your previous solo material?

Liv:
Dues ex Machina was very atmospheric, reminding you a bit about Irish Enya, a real pop-album. Enter My Religion was more guitar-based and earthly with many interesting exotic folk influences. Skintight had some influence from J. Cash, which sometimes gives the listeners a warm and here-and-now campfire feeling experience. Libertine is a back-to-the-roots album, containing the most emotional ballads I’ve ever composed for a solo album, it even has a dark but sweet feeling to it, through both the piano, the dark bass lines and guitars. I see every album becoming more and more individual, just like I am getting closer to myself. Talking about genre… I would say all of my albums are somehow indie… pop, rock or metal.

Gerry:
You cover Kate Bush on the new record, how influential has she been on your career?

Liv:
Kate bush AND Tori Amos are truly my greatest influences vocally. Since I never had any musical education I have found my own way to prepare my voice before a concert or recording session in which I sing along to either of these wonderful voices. It was my best friend, Katja, who had this idea that I should cover Kate. During one of our girls’ evenings…parties…I started singing from the top of my voice along to Kate…the next day I was worried what the neighbors would say. Katjas neighbors did not complain…and my friend inspired me to record the track for “Libertine”. It happened in a one-take session. I just love Kate. She is absolutely outstanding.

Gerry:
How do you feel about the ‘Beauty and the Beast’ tag?

Liv:
I hope it won’t go away, I am very grateful for this “award”.

Libertine is available now via Napalm Records.

About Administrator

Owner of Feedback Magazine UK - established 2011 View all posts by Administrator

Leave a Reply

