Mortis Mutilati – Macabre – Interview

Mortis Mutilati - Macabre

I caught up with French black metaller, Macabre to talk about his recent release Sombre Neurasthénie.

Gerry:
Most, if not all artists that perform Depressive black metal are one man acts, do you agree that this is because of the intense emotions that make it more personal?

Macabre:
Of course! Mortis Mutilati is a one-man project because I wanted it to be the most personal I could. It’s the musical representation of MY feelings and MY emotions and not anyone else’s. As I’m the only member of this project, I do absolutely what I want and no one can tell me “Oh no, I don’t like this riff, change the bla-bla-bla…”. This is MY music.

Gerry:
Depressive black metal is an extremely emotional genre of music.  Do you need to be in a particular frame of mind to play this style of music?

Macabre:
Yes, mostly I compose when I feel angry or depressed. Being exhausted is a good way to write too. Most of the tracks of “Sombre Neurasthénie” (and besides of the next album) have been written in the middle of the night. Sometimes the night brings gloomy ideas to me, and music too.

Gerry:
Piano also features on Sombre Neurasthénie, is this an instrument that is close to your heart?

Macabre:
I do like the piano, but it’s not my favourite music instrument… I can’t even play it very well. I put it in “Sombre Neurasthénie just because I found it sounds pretty good with the atmosphere of the tracks. There won’t be piano in the next album but however I bought an organ few weeks ago, so you can expect to hear some!

Gerry:
How was it recording with Eve Carmignac?

Macabre:
At the beginning, I planned on singing the clean vocals. I heard her for the first time during a traditional music concert while she played the harp and sang at the same time. I thought her tone would sound well with the song. Then I went on her website and asked her if she was interested in recording. She did record, and I’m satisfied with the result.

Gerry:
Three tracks from your first self titled demo feature on Sombre Neurasthénie, what was the reason for their inclusion.

Macabre:
First, there’s no vocals on the demo contrary to the album. The demo was a trial for Mortis Mutilati. I made 50 copies that I delivered to my friends and family, and distributed the rest during my other band’s concerts. I got pretty good opinions, so I included the tracks in the album.

Gerry:
How do you record, is there a process that you have followed from the beginning?

Macabre:
I recorded “Sombre Neurasthénie” all alone with amps and mics I borrowed from the guys of Septentrion. For my next album, I got help from Spont from Procession Of Death, who’s become my sound engineer.

Gerry:
Outside of music, what interests Mortis Mutilati?

Macabre:
Drinking beers and wine while listening black metal. I don’t do nothing much but music.

Gerry:
How would Mortis Mutilati define success?

Macabre:
It sounds quite nice, I received a lot of good feedback from the first album, I hope they’ll be as good or even better for the second one!

Facebook

About Administrator

Owner of Feedback Magazine UK - established 2011 View all posts by Administrator

Leave a Reply

